Making Democracy Work

Who Represents Oakland?

How to contact your elected officials

How to find out who represents you

You can find out which district(s) you are in.
Click on the yellow box ("My Voter Profile")
in the upper right hand corner of the Registrar of Voters web page.
.

Unless otherwise stated, telephone numbers are in the (510) area code.

Oakland City Officials

#1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza  Oakland CA   94612
The city of Oakland's web site is http://www.oaklandnet.com
 
MAYOR Jean Quan   3rd Floor
238-3141   Fax: 238-4731
TDD: (5100 238-3254
Email:officeofthemayor@oaklandnet.com
http://www.jeanquan.org

DEPUTY MAYOR Sandré Swanson
Email:sswanson@oaklandnet.com
 
Oaklanders' Assistance Center   1st Floor   Room 123
For information about City services
444-CITY (2489)   Fax: 238-7420 or 238-6294   TTY: 238-3254
Email: oac@oaklandnet.com
http://www2.oaklandnet.com/index.htm

To report a problem
http://www2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/PWA/Connect/ReportaProblem/index.htm

CITY COUNCIL    2nd Floor
238-3266  TTY 839-6451
President: Pat Kernighan  238-7002
Vice Mayor: Larry Reid  238-7007
The Council meets the 1st, 3rd and 5th Tuesdays, 6:00 PM, City Hall Council Chambers.
Council Committees meet 2nd & 4th Tuesdays at various times;

check web site for agenda.
http://www.oaklandnet.com
Click here to find your City Council district
District Name Phone Fax Email
1 Dan Kalb 238-7001 238-6910 dkalb@oaklandnet.com
2 Patricia Kernighan 238-7002 238-6910 pkernighan@oaklandnet.com
3 Lynette Gibson McElhaney 238-7003 238-6910 LMcElhaney@oaklandnet.com
4 Libby Schaaf 238-7004 238-6129 lschaaf@oaklandnet.com
5 Noel Gallo 238-7005 238-6129 ngallo@oaklandnet.com
6 Desley Brooks 238-7006 238-6129 dbrooks@oaklandnet.com
7 Larry E. Reid 238-7007 238-6910 lreid@oaklandnet.com
At Large Rebecca Kaplan 238-7008 238-6910 rkaplan@oaklandnet.com

City Attorney   Barbara Parker   6th Floor
238-3601  Fax 238-6500   TTY 238-3254
Email: bparker@oaklandcityattorney.org
Web: http://www.oaklandcityattorney.org
City Auditor    Courtney Ruby   4th Floor
238-3378    Fax: 238-7640   TDD 238-3254
Email: cityauditor@oaklandnet.com
Web: http://www.oaklandauditor.com

APPOINTED OFFICIALS
City Administrator   Fred Blackwell  3rd Floor
Fred Blackwell is leaving in mid-June.
Henry Gardner will then be Interim City Administrator
238-3301   Fax: 238-2223   TTY: 238-3724
Email: cityadministrator@oaklandnet.com
City Clerk   LaTonda Simmons   2nd Floor
238-3612   Fax: 238-6699   TTY: 238-6451
Email: cityclerk@oaklandnet.com
Records Manager  Deidre Scott   1st Floor
238-3624   Fax: 238-2228   TTY: 839-6451
Public Ethics Commission nbsp;Whitney Barazoto, Exec. Dir. 11h Floor
238-6620    Fax: 238-3315   TTY 238-3724
Email: ethicscommission@oaklandnet.com
 Port of Oakland  Chris Lytle, Exec. Director   5530 Water St., Oakland 94607
627-1100  http://www.portofoakland.com

OAKLAND UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT
Superintendent's Office,   1000 Broadway, Suite 680
Oakland CA  94607
434-7790  
http://www.ousd.k12.ca.us
Other department addresses can be found at http://www.ousd.k12.ca.us/Page/9851
State Trustee:  Carlene Naylor
434-7790    Email: Carlene.Naylor@ousd.k12.ca.us
Superintendent: Antwan Wilson
434-7790    Email: Antwan.Wilson@ousd.k12.ca.us
BOARD OF EDUCATION
Voice Mail: 879-8199   Fax: 879-8000   TTY: 879-8739
boe@ousd.k12.ca.us
The Board meets on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month in the Great Room, La Escuelita Ed. Center, 1050 2nd Ave. For meeting schedules, check web site http://bex.ousd.k12.ca.us/CALENDAR.htm or call ahead. Agendas, minutes and legislative files can be found at this web address http://www.ousd.k12.ca.us/domain/67
District Name Email
1 Jody London jody.london@ousd.k12.ca.us
2 David Kakishiba, president david.kakishiba@ousd.k12.ca.us
3 Jumoke Hinton-Hodge jumoka.hodge@ousd.k12.ca.us
4 Anne Campbell Washington anne.washington@ousd.k12.ca.us
5 Roseann Torres roseann.torres@ousd.k12.ca.us
6 Christopher Dobbins christopher.dobbins@ousd.k12.ca.us
7 James Harris jamesharris@ousd.k12.ca.us
student directors    
  Carmen Jiminez carmen.jiminez@ousd.k12.ca.us
  Katebah Al-Olef katebah.al-olef@ousd.k12.ca.us

Alameda County

The Alameda County Official Website is http://www.acgov.org

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
Admin. Bldg.,   1221 Oak St.,Room 536   Oakland, CA 94612    272-6347
The Board meets Tuesdays, 9:00 AM in the Board Chambers Administration Building, 5th Floor. Call ahead or check website.
Dist. Area Name Phone Fax Email
3 Chinatown, San Antonio, Fruitvale and Melrose areas of Oakland; Alameda, San Leandro, San Lorenzo Wilma Chan 272-6693 268-8004 District3@acgov.org
4 Oakland: lower hills, south hills and Elmhurst areas; Pleasanton, Castro Valley, Cherryland, Fairview, Ashland Nathan A. Miley
272-6694 465-7628 District4@.acgov.org
5 West and north Oakland, Rockridge and the north hills area of Oakland; Albany, Emeryville, Piedmont Keith Carson
President
272-6695 271-5151 Dist5@acgov.org
Clerk of the Board     Anika Campbell-Belton

   1221 Oak St., Rm 536, Oakland 94612
   834-6984   834-6734 TTY anika.campbell-belton@acgov.org

ALAMEDA COUNTY OFFICIALS
http://www.acgov.org
Administrator Susan Muranishi
1221 Oak St., 5th Fl., Oakland 94612
272-6984   272-3784 Fax
Assessor Ron Thomsen
1221 Oak St., Rm 145, Oakland 94612
272-3787   272-3803 Fax
County Counsel Donna Zeigler
1221 Oak St., Rm 450, Oakland 94612
272-6700   272-5020 Fax
District Attorney Nancy O'Malley
1225 Fallon St., Rm 900, Oakland 94612
272-6222   271-5157 Fax
Clerk-Recorder Patrick O'Connell
1106 Madison St., Oakland 94607
272-6565 TDD 444-1396
Registrar of Voters Tim Dupuis
1225 Fallon St., Rm. G-1, Oakland 94612
272-6933  272-6982  Fax   TDD 208-4967
Treasurer/Tax Collector Donald R. White
1221 Oak St., Rm. 131, Oakland 94612
272-6801   272-6807 Fax

ALAMEDA COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION
313 W. Winton Avenue, Rm. 150, Hayward 94544
http://www.acoe.org  887-0152
See the website for the schedule of board meetings
Area 1 N. Oakland Joaquin J. Rivera 670-4145 Email: jrivera@acoe.org
Area 2 West, East Marlon L. McWilson 670-4145 Email: mlmcwilson@acoe.org
Area 3 N.Central Oak. Ken Berrick 670-4145 Email: kberrick@acoe.org
Schools Superintendent Sheila Jordan

   670-4140   670-4101 Fax
   Email: sheilaj@acoe.k12.ca.us

Special Districts

PERALTA COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT
http://www.peralta.edu
College of Alameda    555 Ralph Appezzato Ave., Alameda 94501 522-7221
Laney College 900 Fallon St., Oakland 94607 834-5740
Merritt College 12500 Campus Dr., Oakland 94619 531-4911
Berkeley City College    2050 Center Street, Berkeley 94704 981-2800
Chancellor: Jose M. Ortiz
333 E. 8th St., Oakland CA 94606
466-7202
BOARD OF TRUSTEES
466-7203   466-0604 Fax
The Board meets on selected Tuesdays, at 7 PM
333 E. 8th St., Board Room. Call Ahead or check website.
Meetings broadcast on Cable Channel 28.
Area (*Part of the area falls within Oakland)
1* Bill Withrow bwithrow@peralta.edu
2* Meredith Elayne Brown, VP mbrown@peralta.edu
3* Linda Handy lhandy@peralta.cc.ca.us
4 Nicky Gonzalez Yuen ngonzalezyuen@peralta.edu
5* Dr. William "Bill" Riley wriley@peralta.edu
6* Cy Gulassa cgulassa@peralta.edu
7* Abel Guillen, President aguillen@peralta.edu
student trustee Sharon Clegg sclegg@peralta.edu
student trustee Wai Li wli@peralta.edu

AC TRANSIT
1600 Franklin, Oakland 94612
891-4777    891-7157 Fax
http://www.actransit.org
General Mgr.  David J. Armijo   891-4753   891-4705 Fax
Email: darmijo@actransit.org
AC TRANSIT DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND    891-7284
The Board meets at 6 PM on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month, in the 2nd floor Board Room.
Ward 2 Greg Harper, President    891-7145 420-8913 Fax Email: gharper@actransit.org
Ward 3 Elsa Ortiz
891-7211 891-4705 Fax Email: eortiz@actransit.org
At Large H. E. Christian Peeples 891-7151 658-1425 Fax Email: cpeeples@actransit.org
At Large Joel Young
891-7146 891-4705 Fax Email: jyoung@actransit.org

BAY AREA RAPID TRANSIT (BART)
300 Lakeside Drive, Oakland 94612    464-6000
http://www.BART.gov
General Manager Grace Crunician   464-6060
BOARD OF DIRECTORS for OAKLAND    464-6095
The Board meets at 9 AM on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of the month January - October. Nov.-3rd Thurs, Dec-1st& 3rd, in the Kaiser Center 20th Street Mall, Third Floor, 344 20th St.
District 3 Rebecca Saltzman 464-6095 Email: boardofdirectors@bart.gov
District 4 Robert Raburn 464-6095 Email: robertraburn@covad.net
District 7 Zakhary Mallett 464-6095 Email: boardofdirectors@bart.gov

EAST BAY MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT (EBMUD)
375 11th Street Oakland CA 94607   1-866-403-2683    http://www.ebmud.com
BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND
   287-0404   287-0555 Fax
The Board meets on the 2nd & 4th Tuesdays of the month at 1:15 PM
in the second floor Board Room at 375 11th Street.
Ward 3 Katy Foulkes kfoulkes@ebmud.com
Ward 4 Andy Katz akatz@ebmud.com
Ward 5 Doug Linney dlinney@ebmud.com
Ward 6 William B. Patterson wpatters@ebmud.com

EAST BAY REGIONAL PARK DISTRICT
2950 Peralta Oaks Court   Oakland CA 94605-0381
562-2757 (recorded info)   1-888-327-2757    http://www.ebparks.org
General Manager Robert E. Doyle  "bdoyle@ebparks.org"(mailto:bdoyle@ebparks.org)
BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR OAKLAND
544-2020    569-1417 Fax
The Board meets at 2 PM on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays in the Board Room at 2950 Peralta Oaks Court.
Ward 2 John Sutter 597-1440
531-5420 Fax
Email: jsutter@ebparks.org
Ward 4 Douglas Siden 523-8157
864-2943 Fax
Email: dsiden@ebparks.org

California

GOVERNOR Jerry Brown (D)
State Capitol, Suite 1173, Sacramento CA 95814
(916) 445-2841 (916) 558-3160 Fax
http://www.gov.ca.gov
 
SECRETARY OF STATE Debra Bowen (D)
1500 11th St, Sacramento CA 94814
(916) 653-6814
http://www.sos.ca.gov

STATE LEGISLATURE
Go to http://findyourrep.legislature.ca.gov, or call the Alameda County Registrar of Voters, 272-6973, to determine your district.
 
SENATE ASSEMBLY
Senate Post Office Assembly Post Office
State Capitol State Capitol
Sacramento CA 95814 Sacramento CA 94249
http://www.senate.ca.gov http://www.assembly.ca.gov
 
STATE SENATOR FOR OAKLAND   District 9   Loni Hancock (D)
Oakland Office: 1515 Clay Street, Room 2202
Oakland, CA 94612
286-1333     286-3885 Fax
Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 2082
Sacramento, CA 95814   (916)651-4009    (916)651-4909 Fax   
Email: senator.Hancock@sen.ca.gov
Here is the web page for State Senate District 9
 
ASSEMBLY MEMBERS FOR OAKLAND
District 15 * Nancy Skinner (D)
* Includes parts of Oakland (Rockridge, Montclair Hills as far south as the intersection of Joaquin Miller and Skyline, Dimond, Oakmore, Shepherd's Canyon, Piedmont Pines).
Here is a map of her district
Oakland Office: 1515 Clay Street, Suite 2201, Oakland, CA 94612
286-1400    286-1406 Fax
Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 3160
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0015
(916) 319-2015    (916) 319-2115 Fax
Email: Assemblymember.Skinner@assembly.ca.gov
http://asmdc.org/members/a15
District 18 ** Rob Bonta (D)
** Includes Alameda; much of Oakland (West, Central and East); San Leandro.
Here is a map of his district
1515 Clay Street, Suite 2204
Oakland CA 94612
286-1670    286-1888 Fax
Sacramento Office: State Capitol, Room 6025
P.O. Box 942849, Sacramento, CA 94249-0018
(916) 319-2018     (916) 319-2118 Fax
Email: Assemblymember.Bonta@assembly.ca.gov
http://asmdc.org/members/a18

United States

President Barack Obama (D)
Email: president@whitehouse.gov/contact
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500
(202)456-1111 (comments) TDD (202)456-6213 (comments)
http://www.whitehouse.gov
Vice President Joseph Biden (D)
Email: vice.president@whitehouse.gov/contact
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500
(202)456-1414 (202)456-1111 (comments)TDD (202)456-6213
http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/vice-president-biden

THE CONGRESS (202) 224-3121
U.S. SENATE    http://www.senate.gov
Barbara Boxer (D)
70 Washington Street, Suite 203
Oakland, CA 94607
286-8537     (202) 224-0454 Fax
Email: Use Web form at URL below
http://boxer.senate.gov
Washington office:
112 Hart Senate Office Bldg.
Washington DC 20510
(202) 224-3553   Fax (202)224-0454
Dianne Feinstein (D)
1 Post Street, Suite 2450
San Francisco, CA 94104
(415) 393-0707    (415) 393-0710 Fax
Email: Use Web form at URL below
http://feinstein.senate.gov
Washington office:
331 Hart Senate Office Bldg.
Washington DC 20510
(202) 224-3841   TTY: (202) 224-2501    (202) 228-3954 Fax
 
U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
http://www.house.gov
District 13    Barbara Lee (D)
Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Oakland, Piedmont and San Leandro
Here is a map of the district
1301 Clay St., Suite 1000 N
Oakland CA 94612
763-0370    763-6538 Fax
Email: To Email Congresswoman Lee, go to her website, below
http://www.lee.house.gov
Washington office:
2267 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington DC 20515
(202) 225-2661    (202) 225-9817 Fax